What my sorority taught me

5470573119_5b80a1d279

Usually sorority posts are very negative and show the exact opposite of what true sisterhood is. Personally, my sorority is not what everyone would think. Yes, of course drinking and partying is something that mostly all Greek houses do. Although in my sorority, it doesn’t matter your background, whether you do illegal things or whatever the case is. Delta Chi Omega was founded in 1954. DCO stands for devotion, chastity and open mindedness. We are a group of classy girls that stunt red and white letters and pearls. We strive to have diversity in my house and to have fun. We also make sure to emphasize our secrecy as our top most importance (so no I will not be telling you and juicy secrets in this.) Sisterhood is more than friendship and is truly alive and well in our house. There is not one of my sisters that would ever leave me behind or make sure i’m not OK in any circumstances. During pledging this is emphasized a lot. My house has taught me the best way to be organized and to use my time management skills. Being in a sorority you are always busy whether it be attending/planning mixers, attending a seminar, keeping up relationships with other Greek houses and way more. Also shoutout to my brother house Kappa Sigma Epsilon you’re all awesome. My sisters are strong, independent and just all around great. My big is the best person I’ve ever met ever and my pledge sisters are literally like real sisters because of how much time we spend together (and yes even the arguing!) My sorority has also taught me that not all sororities live up to the stereotypical name. I was probably the last person any one thought would join a sorority… seriously, all of my friends from back home were super surprised including my mom. But again, sororities are not what you think at all. It is more of a business then anything and the business needs employees which are the sisters. There is so many other things I have learned just by being a new sister and just making it through late March and I already know this is where I belong. My sorority is my home away from home (even though some of my sisters live literally in the same town as me) but still. Delta Chi Omega. FITB.

Leave a Reply

