Why I will not be watching 13 Reasons Why

13 Reasons Why is a book I picked up in my 10th grade year of high school. At the time, this book made me feel like Hannah Baker was me. I was going through a lot at the time and found comfort in the book. Now, looking back I can see fully why I would like it. Being a person who was always interested in psychology I was always drawn to books that had tragic twists in it or something of that nature. I am not sure what the series is like but I can’t imagine it would be much different then the book. The reasons I will not be watching it is I feel the book kind of glorifies her suicide. Yes, this character Hannah went through A LOT but it shows an effective way to make people feel like complete shit and blame others for suicide. When I was reading the book, this actually made me think of ideas similar to her. Sending out tapes to people who did you wrong while you were alive after a tragic death is completely horrible. Not to say suicide isn’t horrible because it is. If these people did so many mean things to her as soon as they heard of her passing they would feel pretty shitty anyways. But let’s make it worse maybe to the point those people would want to take their own life as well. I also believe the show should be taken off of Netflix. Social media is a huge influence on the younger generation (everyone knows that.) I have seen countless posts about this series. The show could potentially have enough influence on children that they think it’s ok to take their own lives, like it’s normal and ok when it is not at all. There is also a very graphic scene of Hannah Baker taking her own life in it which if a child saw could scar them. All in all this is my opinion, I personally don’t even think the book was that good having read it 3 years ago as compared to now. When you’re 15 struggling with self image, depression and bullying this book could be a trigger. Now when you’re 18, in college and know way more you realize so much more.

Leave a Reply

